Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tutorials: The Library's Catalog

Library Catalog

Alumni Library uses an Open Source catalog to manage the Library's collections and student accounts called Koha. The Library Management System, Koha, helps students find books, DVDs, and other materials quickly

To access the Library's catalog, go to the Library's home page at HTTP://eac.libguides.com/libraryhome or HTTP://eac.kohalibrary.com. Students can also navigate to the Library's home page by going to EAC.EDU, selecting Academics, and scrolling down to Alumni Library. Once on the Library's home page, the catalog may be accessed by clicking on the Catalog button at the top left of the page.

 

 

 

The Library Catalog's main menu allows students to easily navigate to resources.

The Home Button: The Home Button allows students to return to the Home screen.

undefined


Advanced Search: Advanced search allows students to filter results.

undefined

The image below shows a few ways you can filter your results prior to searching your search terms.

undefined


New Titles: Selecting the New Titles button


Course Reserves: Alumni Library purchases copies of selected textbooks each semester. These items are placed in our Course Reserves and may be checked out for either 2 hours or 1 day, depending on the item. To search for Course Reserve items quickly, select Course Reserves from the main menu, search for the course title or scroll through the alphabetical list of courses.

undefined

 

Once you find your course, click on the course title to see textbooks owned by the Library.

undefined


Recommended Reading: The Recommended Reading List allows students to view resources faculty members frequently request students read. For example, students needing literature written by a Hispanic author can search the Hispanic Author List under Recommended Reading.

Follow the steps below to search the library's catalog.

Step 1. On the main catalog page locate the search box at the top of the page.

undefined

 

Step 2. Enter your search terms into the search box. In the example below, I am searching for Gawain and the Green Knight, so I've entered my search terms in quotes to limit the number of results I get. More information on Boolean Operators and the use of quotation marks can be found in the Boolean Searching tutorial.

undefined

 

Step 3. Click the magnifying glass on the right of the search box to search for library items. Results will be displayed beneath the search box. The example below indicates Alumni Library has 8 items related to the search terms "gawain and the green knight".

undefined

 

Step 4. Filter the results if necessary. Filters (also known as facets) are available on the left-hand side of the result page. Searching for "gawain and the green knight" shows that 5 items are online and 3 are located at the Thatcher campus.

undefined

 

Step 5. Identify the resource you need and 1) view the resource online or 2) locate the call number for the item.

undefined

The Library's catalog allows users to filter results to limit the number of items and to more closely reflect the needs of the researcher. As shown below, several filters are displayed on the left-hand side of the result page.

Availability and Format: The first two filters are Availability and Format. Availablity allows the user to select a campus location or an online resource. Because EAC does not share resources between campuses, students may wish to select their campus from the list or select EAC Library Online to view online resources. "Format" provides students the option of indicating the type of resource they are seeking. Students wishing to find DVDs, can select "DVD" from the list, while students seeking a physical book should select "Book" from the list. More than one option may be selected at the same time.

undefined

Author and Topic: Author and topic are the next two filters. Although, "Author" can be useful if you are looking for a specific author, students may search by the author's name to find items. Therefore, the "Author" filter may not be as useful as the "Topic" filter. "Topic" allows students to limit results based on a subject. As illustrated below, EAC has 2,643 items related to "Women", 2,221 items related to "English language", and 2,172 items related to "African Americans". To view more results, students may click on the "more" link below any filter.

undefined

Publication Date and Language: Publication date and language are the next two filters within the library's catalog. Publication dates may be useful to students who are required to use resources within a specific time frame, and there are two ways to filter by publication date. First, students may use the filter bar to scroll to an appropriate date range. Second, students may select and time range from the list of options below the bar. More than one time range may be selected at the same time. However, if multiple dates are desired, the use of the date scroll bar may eliminate the need to select multiple dates from the filter list. The "Language" filter allows students to filter for resources in languages they are comfortable reading or hearing. Since many of our streaming videos are in non-English languages, the use of the filter may be important to students. However, most of the foreign language videos provide English subtitles.

undefined

Collection and Material Type: Collection and Material Type are the next two filters available. "Collection" allows students to indicate the collection type such as non-fiction, DVDs, or reference items, among others. To view additional collections, click on the "more" button at the bottom of the Collection list. "Material Type" is similar to "Collection". However, it provides the location as well as the collection. For example, if you are looking for a non-fiction item at the Thatcher campus, you would select "Thatcher: Non-Fiction". Whereas, if you are looking for a non-fiction item at the Payson campus, you would select "Payson: Non-Fiction".

undefined

Geographic region: Geographic region may be beneficial to students who are researching a specific area of the world. For example, if you are researching the history of the United States, you may wish to select "United States". However, be cautious when filtering by Geographic region since many events occur worldwide and are not limited to a specific geographic region.

undefined