Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Google Books ~ Full and partial images of thousands of books and periodicals digitized by Google. To limit results to full-text, use the advanced book search and click on "full-view only." Particularly good resource for finding the complete text of older books and periodicals.
- HathiTrust Digital Library ~ Full-text access to collections of digital material held by participating institutions. To access the full item, you may need to to set up a University of Michigan friend account though this will not enable full-PDF download of items. A friend account is provided free of charge.
- The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) ~ Collaborative effort of consortial libraries to provide access to journal table of contents, full-text of social science literature, and digital images of more than 75,000 pages of Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.
- Latin American European Portal ~ Information and documents on European study of Latin America.
- Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online: Latin America ~ Extensive list of open access newspaper sites compiled at Bowling Green State University.
- Internet Sites with Primary Resources for History: Latin America ~ Extensive list of open access primary sources for Latin America compiled at Bowling Green State University.
- Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Data Base ~ Statistical series for more than forty economic and social indicators over the whole twentieth century, covering twenty countries in the region. It is designed as a resource for economic and social historians worldwide. Coverage is now being expanded, both backwards to 1870 and forwards to 2010.
- American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750-1789 ~ Collection from the Library of Congress. Includes 18th century maps of the Caribbean.
- Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies ~ Digital copies of ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas.
- Archive of Early American Images ~ Images from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University from 1492 to ca. 1825. Includes both North and South America.
- John Carter Brown Haiti Collection ~ Includes rare books, maps and newspapers that tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place.
- John Carter Brown Library Spanish America Collection ~ Full-text of one of the world's largest collection of books printed in Spanish America. Primarily in Spanish, the site includes links to sub-collections by country.
- Political Archives (Commonwealth and Latin American Archives Project) ~ Full-text of political ephemera including both pamphlets and posters. Primarily 20th century. In both Spanish and English.
- Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820 ~ A gallery of color images, interpretive essays and a searchable bibliography on visual culture in Spanish America.