Skip to main content

A to Z Database List: Nursing/Allied Health Databases

Available without passwords on all internet-connected computers on campus. For off-campus access, students and staff may use their Monster-ID and password for all resources except Micromedex. Please request a password for Micromedex from your instructor.
 

Most used Nursing/Allied Health Databases:

Health & Wellness Resource Center Including Alt Health Health Reference Center Academic
Health Source Nursing/ Academic Collection Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Micromedex  Nursing & Allied Health Collection

 

 

 


Additional Nursing/Allied Health Databases:

Academic OneFile  ~ Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Academic Search Premier ~ Full-text scholarly journal and magazine articles. Best place to start research for academic topics. Subject Terms authority file for finding keywords. Mobile access.

Career Transitions ~ Career Transitions is an online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process from beginning to end. It brings together all the tools needed to explore and take the leap to a new career. Career Transitions employs a step-by-step approach to help people: 1) explore new career possibilities; 2) assess their interests and experience; 3) identify ways to improve their prospects, including networking and education; 4) prepare for a job search; and 5) search and apply for jobs.

Gale Interactive: Chemistry ~ Users can manipulate and explore the periodic table, molecules, and other 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

CQ Researcher ~ Single journal title with weekly issues. Also "Hot Topics" articles. Overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, graphics, photos and short "sidebar."

Ebrary ~ E-books on a variety of topics. Mobile access with installation of a special reader. Save references and annotations to a personal "bookshelf." Ebsco, Ebrary and GVRL ebooks searchable in EAC-Y search.

Gale Researcher: All Modules

Gale Virtual Reference Library ~ Browse, search and download eBook pages/chapters anytime from any Internet-connected device. Ebsco, Ebrary and GVRL ebooks searchable in EAC-Y search.

Gender Studies Collection ~ Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

General OneFile ~ General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

Global Issues In Context ~ Global Issues In Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Health & Wellness Resource Center Including Alt Health ~ Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Reference Center Academic ~ Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Source - Consumer Edition ~ Articles, pamphlets, reference books. Clinical reference systems reports, drug information monographs, dictionary.

Health Source Nursing/ Academic Collection ~ Full text Scholarly journals. Nursing and allied health. AHFS Consumer Medication Information. U.S. prescription drugs, herbal, nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy ~ Users can manipulate and explore 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

LexisNexis Academic ~ Documents, records, articles. News, business, legal, medical and reference information. Journals, magazines, newspapers, industry reports, company directories, dictionaries, financial information, press releases, transcripts, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.

MasterFile Premier ~ Full text. Periodicals, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, newswires, transcripts. Image collection of photos, maps & flags. Magazines, peer-reviewed journals

MEDLINE ~ Full text. Biomedical journals. Academic journals, magazines, guidelines

Micromedex ~ Full-text. Patient care notes, prescription drug identification, compatibility, interactions, calculators, health information articles. NOTE: For access, please see your instructor or librarian.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection ~ Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection ~ Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Proquest ~ Access multiple ProQuest databases.

Salem Health ~ Online access. Careers, biographies, medical guide, health reference book.

Science In Context ~ Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

SIRS ~ Full text. Journals, newspapers, government documents, Supreme Court cases, national archives, contact info for congress, maps. Graphics, multimedia.

Student Resources In Context ~ Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Vocational & Career Collection ~ Full text. Trade, industry-related periodicals, reference books.

Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection ~ Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.