Skip to main content

A to Z Database List: General Databases

General

Available without passwords on all internet-connected computers on campus. For off-campus access, students and staff may use their Monster-ID and password for all resources.

Most popular General Resources Databases for English 102

CQ Researcher Gale Researcher
Global Issues in Context Issues and Controversies in American History
Issues and Controversies Online Opposing Viewpoints

 

 

 


All General Resource Databases:

A to Z USA Maps Online ~ Statistics, population figures, images, demographics. Articles, maps, photos, facts. U.S., individual states, 5 US territories, District of Columbia.

Academic OneFile  ~ Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Academic Search Premier ~ Full-text scholarly journal and magazine articles. Best place to start research for academic topics. Subject Terms authority file for finding keywords. Mobile access.

Arizona Republic ~ Full text of The Arizona Republic newspaper. Local and regional news. All sections of the paper are searchable.

Book Review Index Online (Full Text) ~ A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

CQ Researcher ~ Single journal title with weekly issues. Also "Hot Topics" articles. Overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, graphics, photos and short "sidebar."

Diversity Studies Collection ~ Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.

Ebrary ~ E-books on a variety of topics. Mobile access with installation of a special reader. Save references and annotations to a personal "bookshelf." Ebsco, Ebrary and GVRL ebooks searchable in EAC-Y search.

Educators Reference Complete ~ Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

Ethnic NewsWatch ~ U.S. newspaper and journal articles. Selected from the ethnic and minority press. 1990 to the present. Includes Spanish language newspapers.

Gale Researcher: All Modules

Gale Virtual Reference Library ~ Browse, search and download eBook pages/chapters anytime from any Internet-connected device. Ebsco, Ebrary and GVRL ebooks searchable in EAC-Y search.

Gender Studies Collection ~ Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

General OneFile ~ General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

Global Issues In Context ~ Global Issues In Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

INFORME ACADEMICO ~ Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.  Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.

Issues & Controversies Online ~ Articles, videos, debate materials. Hot topics, updated weekly. Encyclopedia, almanac.

Issues & Controversies in American History ~ Articles. History texts, historical journals, primary source documents, biographies, timelines, images, statistical charts, and encyclopedia survey articles.

LEGALTRAC ~ LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

LexisNexis Academic ~ Documents, records, articles. News, business, legal, medical and reference information. Journals, magazines, newspapers, industry reports, company directories, dictionaries, financial information, press releases, transcripts, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.

MasterFile Premier ~ Full text. Periodicals, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, newswires, transcripts. Image collection of photos, maps & flags. Magazines, peer-reviewed journals.

Newspaper Source ~ Cover-to-cover full text. More than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. Selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center ~ Articles, pro/con viewpoint essays, books, topic overviews, primary source documents. Biographies, court-case overviews, statistical tables, charts and graphs, podcasts, national and state curriculum standards.

Pop Culture Collection ~ Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses. 

Proquest ~ Access multiple ProQuest databases. 

RefUSA ~ Statistics, company information. Company names, phone numbers, addresses, key executive names, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, contact details, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores.

Student Resources In Context ~ Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.